Information on breathalyzers, ignition interlock devices, and DWI and license reinstatement laws regarding ignition interlocks.
Monday October 20th 2014

IID Installers

Getting a California Restricted License

California DMV provides the procedures to obtain a restricted license with an ignition interlock device.

California DMV provides the procedures to obtain a restricted license with an ignition interlock device.

There are many reasons an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for a driver in California. However, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be able to help some with drunk driving convictions reduce the time of their license suspension or revocation. The ignition interlock system requires the offender to breath into the device and if a certain level of alcohol is detected then the ignition will not work. The device also requires a rolling test while the vehicle is being driven to ensure the driver was the person who submitted the breath sample, though the car will not shut off while in motion but rather sound an alarm.

In order to shorten the license suspension or revocation for drunk driving the person must serve at least half the suspension/revocation and must also ensure there are no other outstanding suspensions or revocations on their driving record. To obtain the restricted license the person must then follow the process set out by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

The first step is to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on the vehicle. To do this the person must contact a California DMV approved ignition interlock provider to find a certified installer to conduct the IID installation. A list of approved IID providers can also be found on this site. Once the breath analyzer ignition interlock is installed a Verification of Installation form (DL 920) must be provided to the California DMV.

The offender must make sure that the requirements for a drinking driver program have been met, which could mean enrolling or completing the program depending on the individual’s situation. The drinking driver program provider then submits to the DMV a Proof of Enrollment form (DL 107) or a Notice of Completion form (DL 101).

Proof of financial responsibility must also be demonstrated to the California DMV by obtaining and submitting an SR-22 form from the insurance provider.

Finally, the person must pay all required fees, which includes an IID restriction fee of $15. Fees and forms may be submitted to any local DMV office or mailed to:

DMV, Mail Station J233, P.O. Box 942890, Sacramento, CA 94290-0001.

For legal advice regarding a California drunk driving charge or license suspension or license revocation a California licensed attorney should be contacted.

Other reasons an ignition interlock breathalyzer will likely be required by a California court order include convictions for more than one DUI within a 10 year period, refusal to take a BAC chemical test, a blood alcohol level greater than .15 percent, and a conviction for driving with a driver license suspension due to a DUI offense. An ignition interlock device may be ordered for other offenses depending on the judge.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.